How to Keep Track of Your Work Hours

For your own administration it's a good idea to keep track of you work hours. But not only for your own view on your income, but also to look out for mistakes on your pay check. In every organization are people working and people can make mistakes. Unfortunately also the people who make your paycheck. Read the whole post to get to know how to keep track of your work hours here: http://bit.ly/2474V33

For your own administration it’s a good idea to keep track of you work hours. But not only for your own view on your income, but also to look out for mistakes on your pay check. In every organization are people working and people can make mistakes. Unfortunately also the people who make your paycheck. Read further to get to know how I keep track of my work hours.

DSC00395edit2

Although I track my own work hours in a Dutch table, I’m sure you will understand it. Every month I keep track of stuff like how much I clean the house, how much I go to the gym and how much hours I worked. In the header you can read ‘WORK HOURS’. I want to draw beautiful headers, but I need more practice, haha. Next to the header your can read ‘February’, the month I’m tracking now.

Beneath the header you can read the date I track. Right now I track from the 27th of January till the 24th of February. This is because my next paycheck will be over these days. The ‘2nd March’ is the date I will get my actual paycheck.

For your own administration it's a good idea to keep track of you work hours. But not only for your own view on your income, but also to look out for mistakes on your pay check. In every organization are people working and people can make mistakes. Unfortunately also the people who make your paycheck. Read the whole post to get to know how to keep track of your work hours here: http://bit.ly/2474V33

Then in the actual table I wrote ‘Date’, ‘Function’, ‘Start’, ‘Finish’ and ‘Total worked hours (of that day)’. It’s not necessary to include your function in your tracking table, but for my work it is good to know which function I worked, because it explains why I finished late that night.

So I write the date I worked, my function that day, when I started my employ and when I finished it. For everyday I calculate how many hours I worked that day and on the 24th of February I will add them together to come to my total hours worked.

On my next tracking table for March, I will include the actual day of the week in the table. That has also an influence on my work hours (i.e. when I’m finished earlier than usual).

I used to have a app for tracking my work hours, but I didn’t use that consequently. I experienced that this way of tracking keeps me doing it.

How do you keep track of your work hours?

4 thoughts on “How to Keep Track of Your Work Hours

  1. Just come back from Hong Kong not too long ago. I was eating all the time, main meals followed by many snacks on the street. Still I haven’t managed to eat my way down the list of favourite food. Now your blog makes me crave for all those food again!

    Like

  2. I hear ya! I was reading a deicoatrng blog that was bragging about her new drapery! She hemmed the drapes with a glue gun!! Seriously, she could afford someone to alter them for her! Love your machine quilting pics on FB!

    Like

  3. Keeping track of your work hours is a good if you don’t have a salaried job. If you are paid an hourly wage, sometimes your employer will get your hours wrong. This happened to me once, I didn’t get paid for 3 hours that I worked, so that’s why keeping track of them is important. Thanks for sharing!

    http://www.mintnotion.com

    Like

Comments

